Six Kalima in Arabic and English text

The Six Kalimas are six brief, concise phrases that summarize the core beliefs of Islam. They serve as statements of faith and are often recited by Muslims as a form of remembrance, reflection, and spiritual practice. Each Kalima emphasizes fundamental aspects of Islamic theology and belief. Here are the Six Kalimas:

  1. First Kalima (Kalima Tayyabah):
    • La ilaha illallah Muhammadur Rasulullah
    • Translation: There is no god but Allah, Muhammad is the Messenger of Allah.
  2. Second Kalima (Kalima Shahadah):
    • Ashhadu an la ilaha illallah wa ashhadu anna Muhammadan ‘abduhu wa rasuluhu
    • Translation: I bear witness that there is no god but Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and Messenger.
  3. Third Kalima (Kalima Tamjeed):
    • Subhanallahi walhamdulillahi wala ilaha illallahu wallahu akbar, wala hawla wala quwwata illa billahil ‘aliyyil ‘azim
    • Translation: Glory be to Allah, and praise be to Allah, and there is no god but Allah, and Allah is the Greatest. There is no power and no strength except with Allah, the Most High, the Most Great.
  4. Fourth Kalima (Kalima Tawheed):
    • La ilaha illallahu wahdahu la sharika lahu, lahul mulku wa lahul hamdu, wa huwa ‘ala kulli shay’in qadir
    • Translation: There is no god but Allah, He is alone, He has no partner, to Him belongs the sovereignty and to Him belongs all praise, and He has power over everything.
  5. Fifth Kalima (Kalima Astaghfar):
    • Astaghfirullah Rabbi min kulli dhambin wa atubu ilaih
    • Translation: I seek forgiveness from Allah, my Lord, for every sin and I turn to Him in repentance.
  6. Sixth Kalima (Kalima Radde Kufr):
    • Allahumma inni a’udhu bika min an ushrika bika shay’an wa ana a’lamu bihi, subhanaka inni kuntu minaz-zalimin
    • Translation: O Allah! I seek refuge in You from knowingly associating anything with You, and I seek Your forgiveness for what I do not know. Verily, I was one of the wrongdoers.

These Six Kalimas encapsulate the key principles of Islamic faith, including the belief in the oneness of Allah, the prophethood of Muhammad, repentance, seeking forgiveness, and seeking refuge from associating partners with Allah. They are important for Muslims to learn and recite as part of their spiritual practice and devotion.


The six Kalmas or Kalimas in Islam are integral to the Islamic faith. These Kalmas highlight Islam’s primary and most essential principles that form the core of the religion. The second Kalmah, Kalma-e-Shahadat, is so essential that it must be recited to become a Muslim. Here is a brief explanation of the 6 Kalmas:

  • The First Kalma (Tayyab) reinforces the fundamental belief required by a Muslim to be a true believer, i.e., the Oneness of Allah.
  • The Second Kalma (Shahadat) testifies that a Muslim believes in the Oneness of Allah and that the Prophet Muhammad (ﷺ) is His last Messenger.
  • The Third Kalma (Tamjeed) narrates the glorification of Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَتَعَالَى).
  • The Fourth Kalma (Tauheed) strengthens faith in the Oneness of Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَتَعَالَى).
  • The Fifth Kalma (Astaghfaar) asks for repentance and forgiveness from Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَتَعَالَى).
  • The Sixth Kalma (Radd-e-Kufr) discards disbelief and submits completely to Allah (سُبْحَانَهُ وَتَعَالَى).

First Kalma Second Kalma Third Kalma Fourth Kalma Fifth Kalma Six Kalma


 Kalima in Arabic with Urdu Text



Six Kalimas in English Tajveed

1) Kalma Tayyab: Laa ilaaha illal Lahoo Mohammadur Rasool Ullah

2) Kalma Shaadat: Ashahado An Laa ilaaha illal Laho Wahdahoo Laa Shareeka Lahoo Wa Ash Hado Anna Mohammadan Abdo Hoo Wa Rasoolohoo.

3) Kalma Tamjeed: Subhanallahe Wal Hamdulillahe Wa Laa ilaha illal Laho Wallahooakbar. Wala Haola Wala Quwwata illa billahil AliYil Azeem.

4) Kalma Tauheed: Laa ilaha illal Lahoo Wahdahoo Laa Shareekalahoo Lahul Mulko Walahul Hamdo Yuhee Wa Yumeeto Wa Hoa Haiy Yul La Yamooto Abadan Abada Zul Jalali Wal ikraam Beyadihil Khair. Wa hoa Ala Kulli Shai In Qadeer.

5) Kalma Astaghfar: Astaghfirullah Rabbi Min Kullay Zambin Aznabtuho Amadan Ao Khat An Sirran Ao Alaniatan Wa Atoobo ilaihe Minaz Zambil Lazee Aalamo Wa Minaz Zambil Lazee La Aalamo innaka Anta Allamul Ghuyoobi Wa Sattaarul Oyobi Wa Ghaffaruz Zunoobi Wala Haola Wala Quwwata illa billahil AliYil Azeem.

6) Kalma Radde Kufr: Allah Humma inni Aaoozubika Min An Oshrika Beka Shai Aown Wa Anaa Aalamo Behi Wa Astaghfiroka Lima laa Aalamo Behi Tubtu Anho Wa Tabarrato Minal Kufri Washshirki Wal Kizbi Wal Jheebati Wal Bidaati Wan Nameemati Wal Fawahishi Wal Bohtani Wal Maasi Kulliha Wa Aslamtoo Wa Aamantoo Wa Aqoolo Laa ilaaha illal Lahoo Mohammadur Rasool Ullah.

 The Ideal Times to Recite the 6 Kalmas

Reciting and implementing the teachings of the six Kalmas in our daily lives is the key to gaining their true benefits. We should make it a habit to recite these Kalmas regularly and after each namaz:

  • Kalma Tayyab: Reciting this Kalma after each prayer helps strengthen faith.
  • Kalma Shahadat: Reciting this Kalma daily increases faith and ensures that the reciter will die on faith. It is also recited for accepting Islam.
  • Kalma Tamjeed: This Kalma is often recited during Tasbih namaz for the fulfillment of duas, increase in wealth, destruction of enemies, and request for Jannah in the Hereafter.
  • Kalma Tauheed: Reciting this Kalma daily after prayers keeps one safe from shirk and external attacks on faith.
  • Kalma Astaghfaar: This Kalma is beneficial for asking for forgiveness for all major and minor sins. It is recited as a Tasbih or after obligatory prayers.
  • Kalma Radd-e-Kufr: Reciting this Kalma daily keeps one safe from disobedience, adultery, shirk, and external attacks on faith. It is also recited for forgiveness of sins.


About the author


Copyright © 2024. Created by Easy Learning. Powered by DownloadNaats | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy.